Cliff Jumping in Positano

IMG_5582IMG_5590

Positano was a quick bus ride away from our hotel in Sorrento. We got up early and were excited for our relaxing beach day that lay ahead. When we arrived in Positano my breath was taken away with how beautiful it was. We were dropped off at the top of a hill and could see a clear overview of the beautiful beach and ocean. Positano was like nothing I had ever seen because it was vertically built on the face of a cliff. As we made our way down the cliff we looked up and saw the most beautiful collection of colorful houses and flowers built into the cliff. I was surprised instead of sand the beach was filled with pebbles and once we got there we immediately found our spots on the beach and layed in the sun all day. Maddie (my cousin) and I were the only ones to jump in and swim around in the water. It was so refreshing and beautiful and as we looked around we both looked at each other and we knew we were thinking the same thing, how lucky we were. We talked and swam for so long thinking about how surreal this moment felt as we looked up at the beautiful colorful houses above us. Once we got out of the water, we all decided that we should do an activity. We decided to go cliff jumping!

IMG_5581        IMG_5510                IMG_5511

We had to take a boat over to this little island where the cliff jumping would take place. I was nervous, but mostly excited as we rounded the corner to see kids laughing and jumping into the water. This was the highlight of my day. We got dropped off at the little island and without hesitation started scaling up the cliff. I think that was the scariest part, but I made sure to watch the people ahead of me and followed their lead. Once we climbed to the top of the cliff, my heart started racing like crazy. I had so much adrenaline on the way up that I did not think about the actual jumping part. I watched a few kids jump off that looked like they knew what they were doing until I finally had the courage to do it myself. With my heart pounding out of my chest I ran and leapt off the cliff into the air! It was the biggest adrenaline rush of my life and the minute my feet touched the water I wanted to do it again. We had the best time cliff jumping, but I definitely made sure not to tell my mom about this activity until I was back safe and sound;) We stayed on the little island for the rest of the day jumping and swimming around and when the boat finally picked us back up and brought us back to the beach it was time to go back to Sorrento. I honestly could have stayed there for another week it was so beautiful, but it was hands down one of the most beautiful weekends

IMG_5602  IMG_5541